One of the SharePoint 2010 features I really like is the user status information that is integrated into the updated User Profiles. Unfortunately some organizations are not quite comfortable or ready to support the feature.
Here is what it looks like with the user status set:
Disabling the Status Message field
With normal User Profile property management you can disable the Status Message field (known internally as SPS-StatusNotes). You want to not only change the Edit Settings to not allow users to edit the value, but you want to also ensure that the property is not displayed on any of the profile pages.
Here is a screenshot of the Edit User Profile Property screen:
Removing the Control
While the property is now disabled and we have configured it to not show on the regular profile forms, the Status Message control still shows on the Person.aspx page and gives the users the impression that they can continue to use it.
Here is a screenshot from after the property was disabled:
The status essentially stays unset, and anything that the user might type in cannot be saved. There is no way for them to know that the status can no longer be set and no error is displayed so it is confusing.
The control cannot be removed through configuration unfortunately. To remove the control you will need to edit the Person.aspx page in the MySite Host site collection. It is important to note that the Person.aspx page is shared among all user profiles in the User Profile Service Application so any changes to the page impact all uses.
To edit the page you will need to be a site collection administrator for the site collection. Open the site collection in SharePoint Designer and then open the Person.aspx page. You will need to go into Advanced Mode, which is selectable in the SharePoint Designer ribbon on the right hand side.
Once the page is editable, find and remove the following code:
Once the page is saved, the control will be removed and you will no longer see the pop-up bubble.
Here is what it looks like with the control removed:
Re-Enabling the Control In The Future
If you need to re-enable the control in the future, you can simply reset it to the original Site Definition in SharePoint Designer. This will restore the control and the page back to normal.